The Beauty Myth : Who is to blame?


Before I start, I’d like to acknowledge my dearest friend anon. in my Law School who motivated or rather infuriated me enough to write this blog.

Well It all started this way: there’s this friend of mine who started calling me plump for  no reason and told me that as “her t-shirts” and her tops did not fit me well I was a little on the heavier side( and not little but I was FAT acc. to her). The matter does not rest here my friends! I told her that I wasn’t FAT and was actually quite happy with my present self and that my weight was not at all a problem considering my height. She pointed out the same “you are fat” thing the next day and I gave her the reality check by saying that it was her who needed to keep a check on her weight and not me! ( which was true considering she had a lot of health issues because of her weight although she never took her health seriously and gave others her harsh reviews) ( And I was wrong in behaving the way she behaved with me by telling her that she needed to keep a check on her weight). The remark of mine got misconstrued and she ran to the gym and started exercising( it was 2 am then). I ,along with my friends went straight to the gym and asked her if she had lost her senses!

ME: ” XYZ, Are you mad? It’s 2 am dude. Do you think you can actually exercise your pure fats aaj hi? ” (Will you lose all of your weight by this sudden upsurge?)

XYZ : “I was being called FATTER than you! I mean look at you! I’ll do it. I’ll do it for my boyfriend. He told me I’ll look prettier if I lose weight. GO PLEASE.”

Yes, this actually happened! And I was forced to actually consider losing my weight for the sake for that xyz friend of mine who herself wanted to lose weight for her boyfriend! Was being called fatter than me considered that much of an insult that someone had to actually go to the gym at 2 am and start gyming ? Do I exist to satisfy the masses? Should I really care of what others think of me and my weight and my skin and what I wear and what I don’t?

Khair, I’ve always been into sports and it wasn’t long before I decided against the idea of starving myself because XYZ thought I was fat. Sports can help me when I really need to control my weight.Not everyone is that sensible. There exist set standards of beauty and men and women are persuaded to follow them. Beauty creams, fairness creams, baseless weight loss pills, weight gain pills, plastic surgery have increasingly become a trend with people like us mindlessly investing on these, Should we not introspect and tell ourselves( like I did):

1. Do I really need this? ( I did not. I was healthy and not overweight)

2. Who am I doing this for? ( XYZ was doing it for her boyfriend and I WANTED to do it to prove XYZ that she was wrong).

We purchase  the diet drugs, food, health drinks, and pills that promise to help us lose 50 to 100 pounds practically overnight – health be damned! We buy  ab machines, hip abductors, weights  that their manufacturers and beauty magazines SELL us. They SELLus  a dream and exploit us. A dream of having a size zero body of having more flesh on your breasts and hips and not on your cheeks and belly! Dude, introspect and then make a decision! Be obsessed with losing weight, eat clean, exercise but then do it because you feel good while doing it and not because some xyz friend of yours thinks you are fat or because your favourite singer or actor is slim or because your boyfriend tells you to (In fact, leave that dum-dum the very moment he tells you that! What does he think he is? He ain’t hotter than that senior guy you’ve always had a crush on 😉 ).

Read the following extract from the infamous non-fiction “The Beauty Myth” by Naomi Wolf-

In her introduction, Wolf offers the following analysis:

The more legal and material hindrances women have broken through, the more strictly and heavily and cruelly images of female beauty have come to weigh upon us… [D]uring the past decade, women breached the power structure; meanwhile, eating disorders rose exponentially and cosmetic surgery became the fastest-growing specialty… [P]ornography became the main media category, ahead of legitimate films and records combined, and thirty-three thousand American women told researchers that they would rather lose ten to fifteen pounds than achieve any other goal…More women have more money and power and scope and legal recognition than we have ever had before; but in terms of how we feel about ourselves physically, we may actually be worse off than our unliberated grandmothers.

blog7See? we’re actually buying those things that we do not need! Let’s be  a little less plastic and more realistic. Stop questioning others on the basis of these set standards! A man needs to be gyming all the time and a woman dieting all the time, seriously? Breakaway!

beyonce-pretty-hurts-beauty-42

Be confident ladies. You’re beautiful the way you are. Curvy doesn’t mean fat . And be healthy. Exercise when you think you are compromising on your health and don’t give a shit about what others think of your body or skin if you are comfortable! You don’t need that fairness cream. I mean, really!

Still not convinced to throw away that precious Olay cream of yours? Read the lyrics to one of my favourite songs :

Perfection is a disease of a nation,  pretty hurts (pretty hurts)
Pretty hurts (pretty hurts), we shine the light on whatever’s worst
We try to fix something but you can’t fix what you can’t see
It’s the soul that needs the surgery

Get it?

Wear that loose T-shirt and care not what others would think of your dressing. Comfort-clothing, gyming, dieting these are your choices and cannot be forced on you! Hit the gym when you actually need to , when your weight actually troubles you and not because your fave supermodel is size zero.

And who is to blame for this exploitation? I guess it’s us.

4 thoughts on “The Beauty Myth : Who is to blame?

  1. That made me rethink on my weight issues. I am, by no means, so fat that I would break the chair I am sitting on, but who cares? Yes, people does. And when people does, we do because we can’t meet their expectations. Everyone loves to be loved and adored by the society (that’s true and you know it) and this article made me think that this is so true. I wish I could make my sister read it!

    Like

  2. Well I must say that this article of yours actually involved me so much that I was totally engrossed in reading all of it at one go!

    Truly, the craving of each girl of shaping her body like a size zero model has grown so rampant that I feel like making each one read this article today!

    Very well written my friend.. Cheers! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

