Indian Marriage : The untold Journey


I am an Indian marriage,

No one has seen love blossom like I did,

People meeting over for tea, for their future

Who is it gonna be?

Almost meeting eyes and contact details,

all served : UNDER SUPERVISION

I am an Indian Marriage,

Love never died this ruthless a death before,

Almost marrying the love of my life;

Almost saying no to my future wife,

These are the stories I get to know.

I am an Indian Marriage,

mg_0241

I’ve seen those photographs: some edited, some natural,

I’ve seen her imagine what he would be like;

Then meet and greet his family and friends,

Then go and date her with her girlfriends.

I am an Indian Marriage,

I’ve seen ‘India’s CULTURE”

Here advertisements for a “fair” bride

feed every chauvinistic man with Pride.

Cooking skills and fairness become our measure,

But alas they say ” She’ll be respected”; She’s a “TREASURE”.

I’m an Indian Marriage,

I’ve seen them speak their hearts out,

“I’ve seen them but then come you,

Never appreciated beauty because I never saw you”

Long romantic pause making way for smiling without any cause.

I am an Indian marriage,

My mother-in-law is my enemy,

She’s the dictator of the house,

After marriage days see me

getting bet up by my husband,

And trust me without a cause.

I am an Indian marriage,

I’ve heard them whisper,

Then those words became stronger and a lot more crisper,

” You’re my first love”

“You’re too”

The chances of us meeting My dear were Ohhh so few.

I am an Indian marriage,

I’ve seen him come drunk,

sleep with his ex.

He’s hurt her head with that trunk,

where lie all the Jewellery,cash

electronics and everything

which could not guarantee her happiness

Why do so much for me, Dad”

I’ve heard that echo.

I’m an Indian marriage,

“How I met your mother

will never get stranger than this kids” says he

“It was the autumn of 2010” she’d say,

“No, it wasn’t”, It was the winter of 2009”

That’s when I witness their first quarrel.

I’m an Indian marriage,

She’s been raped by her husband

and attempted to be burned,

enhanced-buzz-13711-1378409731-28

I’ve seen his mother demanding cash

and reducing her father’s house to ash

“We have no demands” she said the first time,

I start getting why they say being a daughter in this country is a crime.

I am an Indian marriage

Ours was a part when our parents met,

Part when we met,

Part after marriage kind of an affair.

“It worked for us, It’ll work for Yous

thrown at young people in despair.

I am an Indian marriage,

For her family a divorce isn’t easy.

It’s like telling her parents that their choice just wasn’t,

Which she can’t,

” Didn’t Papa always get the best

for me when I was two, Mom?”

“He still does” she said flipping through the photographs.

I’m an Indian marriage,

I’ve seen kids disturbed and perturbed.

I’ve seen them never wishing to marry.

I’ve seen them become violent, imitating their parents,

I’ve never seen them merry.

I’ve seen them cry when they sleep, wishing they weren’t born here,

I’ve seen them cutting their hands, not showing; hiding in fear.

They grew up too soon and somehow took it as a boon

I’m an Indian marriage I’ve sworn to handle it all and not divorce,

I’ve sworn to give my children a secure future amidst our chaos.

I’m an Indian marriage,

I want them to grow out of me,

they should now acknowledge Liberty.

they should now acknowledge Liberty

5 thoughts on “Indian Marriage : The untold Journey

  1. Amazingly written Saumya! So good this one is. Especially that “How I met your mother will never get stranger than this kids” part and the lines that followed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

